Catalan countries

castellano - français - english - italiano - occitan - asturianu - aragonés - esperanto

The Catalan Countries are an oppressed nation located in the east of the Iberian Peninsula, from Guardamar in the south, a village in the area of Baix Segura; to Salses, a village in the Rosselló region, in the north of the Pyrenees. It also includes, to the east, the Balearic and Pitiüsses Islands, and extends westward to Fraga, in the Baix Cinca region.

Catalan is the element that identifies the Catalan nation and that has helped structure a unique national consciousness, although the territory of Països Catalans is quartered and divided into several administrations, occupied by French and Spanish States. Both guarantors of capitalism in our country, they have imposed standardized policies that deny the national and cultural diversity throughout history, that themselves are responsible for suppressing and marginalizing.

The history of division and occupation of our land begins with the wars between France and Spain in the seventeenth century, ending with the separation of a part of our nation (Northern Catalonia), annexed since then at the French state through the Treaty of the Pyrenees (1659). Catalonia Nord will be one of the Catalan territories that will suffer more the assimilation policies, much more intense and effective in the French state rather than in the Spanish state. Later, in the War of Spanish Succession to the throne after the death of Charles II of Austria, the Catalan territories under Spanish rule, supported the Archduke Charles of Austria against Felip de Borbó. After the battle of Almansa (April 25, 1707), in which Felip defeated the Archduke supporters, the occupation of our territories and the loss of its own institutions and laws began, a process that culminates in the fall of Barcelona on 11 September 1714. It is with the arrival of the Borbons that, in the Spanish state, efforts to create a modern centralized nation-state, with only a single language and laws and institutions began.

The denial of the democratic right of self-determination,the imposition of the Spanish and French language, the folklorisation and the degradation of our popular culture, the quarter of our territory and borders and division in various administrations, the imposition of a predatory economic and social system of our resources, etc. have become the opressor 's states policies, trying to quell and destroy nations that are fighting for their release. And it could not be otherwise since, in effect, the national liberation movements are the most destabilizing factor for those States who need to remove the problem to ensure their legitimating function of the market system.

They have not achieved what they wanted, and many releasing movements rise and become stronger in the oppressed nations that are strengthened by Spain and France: Catalan, Basque, Galician, Castillians, Corsican, Occitan, Breton ... organize and fight for the construction of societies nationally and socially free.

About us - Principles statement - Catalan countries - MCAN